In English grammar there are 8 parts of speech

In English grammar there are 8 parts of speech.The 8 parts of speech are: nouns, adjectives, pronouns, interjections, conjunctions, prepositions, adverbs and verbs.

What does each of the parts of speech do?

8 parts of speech             Function or what it does (job)

Verb                               action or state

Noun                              are a thing or person

Adjective                        describes a noun

Adverb                           describes a verb, adjective or   adverb

Pronoun                         replaces a noun

Preposition                     links a noun to another word

Conjunction                    joins clauses or sentences or  words

Interjection                     short exclamation, sometimes inserted into a sentence

The 8 parts of speech with examples


More examples of the 8 parts of speech in English grammar…

Read more |

Photo credit | Parts of speech by Jeni G on Flickr


Posted on juillet 15, 2014 in English grammar

Share the Story

About the Author

Back to Top